The Three Representational Modes (TRiM)

The Three Representational Modes (TRiM)

We learn through our senses and these involve the three main processes. The three modes are – linguistic, non-linguistics, and the Affective, and they are called the three representational modes

The three modes-

  • Linguistics: In the world of education and learning, the most common way of presenting the knowledge is lingual. This way it has grabbed the most attention from the learning standpoint. This includes – reading, watching, the verbal communication, etc. In Linguistics mode the experiences are considered as abstract propositions. The propositions are primary bearer of truth and falsity and they represent the things we know and doubt.
  • Non-linguistic: this includes the smell, audio, kinesthetic, mental pictures, etc. These act and function in a permanent manner, i.e. the things we experience get stored in our memory. E.g. When we taste sugar sweet taste of it stores in our taste buds and when we see anything sweet, instantly we can imagine the taste of it.
  • The Affective: this is the essence of our emotions, feelings, etc. Feelings are the internal physiological state of one at any point in time. Thus, thoughts and feelings together form the emotion, and emotions become mood over a  period of time.

 The Three Representational Modes (TRiM)

All the above-mentioned modes are of equal importance in the learning and development. When we learn there is an equal use of lingual, non-lingual and the affective. Therefore, at the workplace, all the three above mentioned modes are important if we talk about implementing the learning and development.

For certification in the L&D visit –

Government certification in L&D


Go back to Tutorial                                                                                Go to Home Page

Types of Learning Styles
SMCK Model

Get industry recognized certification – Contact us