User Management
 


A multi – user blog also becomes very vital if there are different people at different geographical locations contributing to the blog. WordPress as a blogging platform has got good user management capabilities. Also there are plugins which help us to enhance the user management capabilities of our wordpress blogs.

Adding New users
When WordPress is first installed, preferably on a VPS hosting for increased speed, a user with the admin role is created automatically. New users can be added to your WordPress blog in two ways, covered below.

Administrator adding a new user
One can log in to the WordPress admin and the administrator can add new users to the WordPress blog.

From you admin sections in the side menu use the Users section .Under the Users section you will see a link as Add new. When that link is clicked.

Enter the details for the new user like the username, his email and password and click Add User to add a new to your WordPress blog. The role which you assign to the user will depend on what privileges you want to provide to the new user. Below in the article we will see what are the different user roles and there privileges.
Once Add User is clicked a new user will be created.

Users registering themselves
In WordPress you have and you can activate the option so users can register themselves. This option can be turned on from the General Settings page in your admin section. You can also set the default role of any new user that registers (the admin can later change this role for that particular user). Once this option is on, there would be a register link. Using this link new users can register on your blog.

Different Roles in WordPress
Administrator
The Administrator is the person who can do all administrative tasks in WordPress. The privileges of a WordPress administrator

  • An administrator can write and edit his own posts.
  • An administrator when writes a post also can publish it directly
  • An administrator can manage other peoples post
  • An administrator can view other peoples posts
  • An administrator can change themes
  • An administrator can install uninstall plugins
  • An administrator can add/delete users

Basically an Admistrator has privileges to do everything. An administrator account should basically be used for site management like installing plugins, changing themes etc. To do content management like reviewing posts, comments one should preferably use an editor account.

Editor
The privileges of a WordPress editor :

  • An editor can write and edit his own posts.
  • An editor when writes a post also can publish it directly
  • An editor can manage other peoples post
  • An editor can view other peoples posts
  • An editor cannot change themes
  • An editor cannot install uninstall plugins
  • An editor cannot add/delete users

So an editor can do everything related to a post (all post management activities for himself and other users) but cannot do any site management activities like installing new plugins etc.

Author
The privileges of a WordPress author :

  • An author can only write and edit his own posts.
  • An author when writes a post also can publish it directly
  • An author cannot manage other peoples post
  • An author can view other peoples posts


Contributor
The privileges of a WordPress contributor :

  • A contributor can only write and edit his own posts .
  • A contributor when writes a post also cannot publish it directly has to submit it for review .
  • The editor then has to publish the post which is submitted by the contributor
  • A contributor can view other peoples posts

The contributor can only submit an article for review, he cannot directly publish it.

Subscriber
The privileges of a WordPress subscriber :

  • A Subscriber can view other people’s posts/comments.
  • A Subscriber cannot only write his own posts.


Deleting Users
Sometimes some contributor or author might leave your blog and you don’t want him to be able to log in your blog again. In that case you can delete that user.The administrator has the privileges to delete other users. Just from your admin dashboard click on the Users link in your sidebar.

From there select the users you want to delete and select Delete and click Apply.