Learning Resources


ASP.NET AJAX is a set of extensions to ASP.NET developed by Microsoft for implementing Ajax functionality. It is released under the Microsoft Public License (Ms-PL).

ASP.NET AJAX runs on the following browsers:

  • Microsoft Internet Explorer (>= 6.0)
  • Mozilla Firefox (>= 1.5)
  • Opera (>= 9.0)
  • Apple Safari (>= 2.0)
  • Google Chrome

At present, the ASP.NET AJAX suite consists of the following components and packages:

  • Microsoft Now Launched Ajax Library 4.0, which supports Data Driven Web Applications.
  • Microsoft Ajax Library 3.5, which is a JavaScript library that provides the client-side features of the ASP.NET AJAX framework. Integrated in ASP.NET 3.5, the library is also available as a separate download for use in other environments, such as [PHP].
  • A server framework – included in ASP.NET 3.5 – for building Ajax-enabled ASP.NET server controls. These components are also available for ASP.NET 2.0 in a separate package called ASP.NET AJAX 1.0 Extensions.
  • ASP.NET 2.0 AJAX Templates, a package with a set of Visual Studio templates for building ASP.NET AJAX applications with ASP.NET 2.0 and Visual Studio 2008.
  • ASP.NET AJAX Preview, a package with the new features that will be part of the future versions of the framework.
 For Support