Go back to Tutorial

In Sanskrit, meaning of the word yoga is “to add”, “to join”, “to unite”, or “to attach”. Yoga means “union” or “integration” and also “discipline,” so the system of Yoga is called a uniting or integrating discipline. Yoga seeks to unite body, mind, and spirit. Yoga includes postural exercises that help in staying fit and trim, control weight, and reduce stress level.

A person who practices the discipline of balancing mind and body through Yoga is traditionally called a yogi (if male) or a yogini (if female).

Here are the seven principal branches of Yoga, arranged alphabetically

  • Bhakti Yoga: The Yoga of devotion
  • Hatha Yoga: The Yoga of physical discipline
  • Jnana Yoga: The Yoga of wisdom
  • Karma Yoga: The Yoga of self-transcending action
  • Mantra Yoga: The Yoga of potent sound
  • Raja Yoga: The Royal Yoga. It is an eightfold path laid down in the Yoga-Sutra of Patanjali and also called Ashtanga Yoga.
  • Tantra Yoga (including Laya Yoga and Kundalini Yoga): The Yoga of continuity




Certified Fitness Trainer

Go back to Tutorial

Get industry recognized certification – Contact us